• Our website is launching soon!

    The Regulatory Energy Transition Accelerator (RETA/the Accelerator) is a platform for global collaboration between regulators to increase the pace of the energy transition in order to reach our climate goals.



    The Accelerator is an initiative to enhance the capacity of regulators to increase the speed of the clean energy transition. It will work directly with energy regulators in order to facilitate knowledge sharing, peer to peer learning and thought leadership on regulatory issues. It will act as well as a central resource for regulators to seek knowledge products and regulatory tools that can help mitigate challenges regulators face when trying to regulate for the sustainable, affordable and secure energy systems of the future.


    The Accelerator was launched at COP26 as part of the Green Grids Initiative, where Ofgem, IEA, IRENA and World Bank were the leading organisations in the development of the initiative. The joint statement launched at COP26 can be found here.


    The Accelerator is open to all energy regulators globally and more information on how to participate will be made available here soon.

    Regulators who have endorsed the Accelerator:

    Ofgem (Great Britain), the Australian Energy Regulator (Australia), the Public Utilities Commission (California), the Energy Commission (California), the Utility Regulation and Competition Office (OfReg, Cayman Islands), the Electric Utility and Consumer Protection Regulatory Agency (EgyptERA, Egypt), the Energy Regulatory Commission (CRE, France), the Georgian National Energy and Water Supply Regulatory Commission (GNERC, Georgia), the Public Utilities Commission (Hawai’i), DG Electricity, Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources (Indonesia), the Israeli Electricity Authority (Israel), the Regulatory Authority for Energy, Networks and Environment (ARERA, Italy), the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (Kenya), the National Electricity Regulatory Authority (ANRE, Morocco), the Commerce Commission (New Zealand), the Electricity Authority (New Zealand), the Energy Regulatory Authority (NVE-RME, Norway), the Regulatory Agency for Investment in Energy and Mining, (Osinergmin, Peru), the National Utilities Regulatory Commission (Saint Lucia), Energy Market Authority (Singapore), Federal Energy Regulatory Commissioner Allison Clements (USA), the Utility Regulatory Authority (Vanuatu)